Moments in Style

Joie Poncho, $268; Cherrywood Silk Top by Theory, $225; Black Skinny Legging Pant with Leather Trim by Vince, $525; Black Liam Boot by Rag & Bone, at Nordstrom

There is always that first moment in your career that your hard work gets formally recognized and appreciated. I know everyone has experienced this one way or another, and we can all agree on the same feeling. Your heart starts pounding out of your chest, then your ears start to ring, and in the end you’re jumping up and down like a young bunny rabbit. I just recently experienced this new moment in my career. Working as a Personal Stylist at Nordstrom, I work with many outside stylists who bring their clients in or take clothes out of the store to style their clients in their own homes. Just recently, my manager was asked by the stylist at Walnut Creek Magazine to pull some looks for the Fall Fashion Issue, The WC Way to Wear Fall Fashion.

Olive Floral Slip Dress by Enza Costa $395; Sterling Silver Earrings by Argento Vivo, $168, at Nordstrom

I was given the task of pulling these looks for the magazine’s stylist to chose from. I was also told that other retail stores were involved in the fall issue as well. After a few weeks my manager handed me a magazine with the biggest grin on her face. I noticed on the front page that one of my looks was being featured. Then opening to the spread, I saw that every look that I pulled for the young woman was spread out on 4 pages. Immediately, I felt like a true stylist. The idea that no other look was used for this spread made me realize that this is only my beginning. My career has just started and moments that take my breath away will keep happening.

Those reading this post, I want to share with you how important it is to stretch yourself as far as you can go, in order to achieve and capture your dreams. Don’t allow yourself to give up, because you deserve to live in these dreams. If your dreams don’t scare you then they aren’t big enough. Always fear the future, but get excited for what’s to come.

Included are some pictures from the shoot. Enjoy.

Published by

Palettes of Style

Young, creative with 5 years of professional experience in fashion styling, merchandising, and trend spotting

Leave a comment